Chicago Gifted
Community Center 
creating connections - creating community

A Midsummer Night's Dream

  • August 10, 2018
  • 6:30 PM
  • Humboldt Park, Chicago

Now in its seventh year, the FREE FOR ALL Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks tour heads out to neighborhood parks across the north, west, and south sides of the city with a 75-minute abridged production. At each location, a specially equipped truck rolls into the park, a stage unfolds, and a company of professional actors shares Shakespeare’s magical comedy with families and neighbors of all ages.


The citywide tour is made possible by a renewed civic, cultural, and corporate partnership between Chicago Shakespeare Theater, the City of Chicago, Chicago Park District, Boeing, and BMO Harris Bank. Since the inception of the Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks program seven years ago, more than 130,000 Chicagoans have taken advantage of free performances in their communities.


For the first time since the establishment of the Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks tour in 2012, Artistic Director Barbara Gaines is adapting and staging this production for audiences across Chicago. Gaines brings a vision of merriment to the enchanting story of four young lovers who set out for the forest, where an amateur theater troupe is rehearsing. When the Fairy Court discovers these mortals in their midst, mischief ensues until dawn.


Click here for complete details.


Navy Pier | Polk Bros Park Performance Lawn
Wednesday, July 25, 2018 at 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, July 26, 2018 at 7:00 p.m.
Friday, July 27, 2018 at 7:00 p.m.​ ​
Saturday, July 28, 2018 at 7:00 p.m.
600 E. Grand Ave.


Ellis Park
Tuesday, July 31, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
3520 S. Cottage Grove Ave.


Gage Park
Wednesday, August 1, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
2411 W. 55th St.


Kelvyn Park
Thursday, August 2, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
4438 W. Wrightwood Ave.


Eckhart Park
Friday, August 3, 2018 at 6:30 p.m. 

1330 W. Chicago Ave.


Welles Park
Saturday, August 4, 2018 at 6:30 p.m. 
Sunday, August 5, 2018 at 4:00 p.m.
2333 W. Sunnyside Ave.


Columbus Park
Tuesday, August 7, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
500 S. Central Ave.


Tuley Park
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 at 6:30 p.m. 
501 E. 90th Pl.


Humboldt Park
Thursday, August 9, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
Friday, August 10, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
Near The Boathouse
1301 N. Sacramento Ave.


Frank J. Wilson Park
Saturday, August 11, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
Sunday, August 12, 2018 at 4:00 p.m.
4630 N. Milwaukee Ave.


Ridge Park
Tuesday, August 14, 2018 at 6:30 p.m. 
1817 W. 96th St.


Garfield Park
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
At Jackson and Central
100 N. Central Park Ave.


Dvorak Park
Thursday, August 16, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
1119 W. Cullerton St.


Peoria, IL | Glen Oak Park
Sat, August 18 at 7:00 pm
Sun, August 19 at 2:00 pm
2218 North Prospect Road
Peoria, IL


Calumet Park
Tuesday, August 21, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
9801 S. Ave. G


Ogden Park
Wednesday, August 22, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
6500 S. Racine Ave.


Piotrowski Park
Thursday, August 23, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
4247 W. 31st St.


Loyola Park
Friday, August 24, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 25, 2018 at 6:30 p.m.
At Farwell Ave. Entrance
1230 W. Greenleaf Ave.


Ping Tom Memorial Park
Sunday, August 26, 2018 at 4:00 p.m.
1700 S. Wentworth Ave.



© Chicago Gifted Community Center
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software