Follow Us

Chicago Gifted Community Center

Creating connections - Creating community 

Log in

Selective Colleges Admissions Seminar

  • May 19, 2019
  • 6:00 PM
  • Online Webinar

First Steps: What Parents of 8th, 9th and 10th Graders Need To Know Now About Getting Into Selective Colleges

(And why you shouldn't listen to the common -- but misguided -- advice that will set you down the wrong path)

Can't make it live? All registrants will receive a recording of the webinar.

Presented by Susan Goodkin: Susan is a national college consultant who helps students achieve their college dreams. This year alone, she has had students accepted to every Ivy and Stanford, including five students accepted to Stanford, three students accepted to Harvard, two to Princeton, two to Yale, three to Columbia and two to Brown. Her students have also been admitted to a host of other selective colleges throughout the country, including U. Chicago, Northwestern, Vanderbilt, Berkeley, UCLA, Georgetown, NYU, UVA, Emory, Reed, Tufts and more.

Susan is a graduate of Harvard College, Harvard Law School and Oxford University, where she studied on a Rhodes Scholarship

This 90-minute webinar will cover a wide range of topics including: 

  • What really matters to colleges -- and what doesn't
  • Mistakes to avoid when choosing classes 
  • SAT, ACT, PSAT and Subject Tests -- what parents need to know early (but often don't!) 
  • What it takes to get into selective colleges -- admissions are a different world than when you applied, parents!
  • Why the standard advice about building a strong college resume is wrong
  • Why thinking outside the box -- and outside of a student's high school -- is critical to planning extracurriculars
  • Secrets for how students can build a great resume while still having time to sleep and play -- and without parents spending a fortune!
  • The right -- and wrong -- question you should ask your student when starting to think about colleges
  • Tips on searching for scholarships starting now -- there are plenty of scholarships for 9th and 10th graders!

Plus, a question and answer session

Early registrants will also get a special bonus: the recording of my hour-long webinar, "Everything Parents Need to Know About Finding Scholarships,"

 -- a $49 value!

You'll also get a resource-filled hand-out

Information students can use for the next two years, including:

Resources to help students independently study their academic interests -- whatever they are!

The best resources for researching colleges

The best resources for finding scholarships

The best resources for finding academic competitions, in all subject areas, that will help your student stand out from the applicant pack!


When 

This webinar will be offered on two different dates -- please register for just one program!

Sunday, May 19th, 4:00 pm PT, 5:00 MT, 6:00 CT, 7:00 ET 

or

Saturday, May 25th,  11:00 am PT, 12 noon MT, 1:00 pm CT, 2:00 pm ET

All registrants will receive a recording of the webinar.

Registrants who register by the early discount deadline -- May 8th -- will also receive a recording of the webinar " Everything Parents Need to Know About Finding Scholarships ."


Registration for Sunday, May 19th webinar: 

Early registration discount : register by  Wednesday, May 8th, only  $149 undefined

Register after May 8th,  $179undefined


Registration for Saturday, May 25th webinar:

Early registration discount: register by  Wednesday, May 8th, only $149 undefined

Register after Wednesday, May 8th, $179 undefined

If you would like your log-in information to be sent to a different address than your Paypal address, please e-mail me to let me know!

Questions?  E-mail me at Susan.Goodkin@LearningStrategiesCenter.com,

or call 805-642-6686 (9-6 PT).


About cgcc

The Chicago Gifted Community Center (CGCC) is a member-driven 501(c)(3) non-profit organization created by parents to support the intellectual and emotional growth of gifted children and their families. 

Become a member

We  are an all volunteer-based organization that relies on annual memberships from parents, professionals, and supporters to provide organizers with web site operations, a registration system, event insurance, background checks, etc. 

Contact us

info@chicagogiftedcommunity.org

© Chicago Gifted Community Center

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software