Follow Us

Chicago Gifted Community Center

Creating connections - Creating community 

Log in

Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks

  • August 14, 2019
  • 6:30 PM
  • Ogden Park, Chicago

Join us for one of our city’s favorite summer traditions! Now in its eighth year, the FREE FOR ALL Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks tour heads out to neighborhood parks across the north, west, and south sides of the city with a 75-minute abridged production. At each location, a specially equipped truck rolls into the park, a stage unfolds, and a company of professional actors shares Shakespeare’s hilarious The Comedy of Errors with families and neighbors of all ages.

The citywide tour is made possible by a renewed civic, cultural, and corporate partnership between Chicago Shakespeare Theater, the City of Chicago, Chicago Park District, Boeing, and BMO Harris Bank. Since the inception of the Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks program eight years ago, more than 155,000 Chicagoans have taken advantage of free performances in their communities.

Staged and adapted by Jeff Award-winning director and choreographer David H. Bell,  the story unfolds when Antipholus and his lifelong servant Dromio find themselves in Ephesus as they search the world over for a twin, lost in infancy. Everywhere they go in this foreign land, complete strangers insist that they’re best of friends. Is everyone here quite mad? Mistaken identities abound, as one bewildering day in Ephesus makes for hilarious complications—and a bewitching theatrical experience.

Click here for complete details.

SCHEDULE

Navy Pier | Polk Bros Park
Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 7:00 p.m.
Friday, July 19, 2019 at 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, July 20, 2019 at 7:00 p.m.​ ​

600 E. Grand Ave.

Garfield Park
Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
At Jackson and Central
100 N. Central Park Ave.

Gage Park
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
2411 W. 55th St.

Kelvyn Park
Thursday, July 25, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
4438 W. Wrightwood Ave.

Eckhart Park
Friday, July 26, 2019 at 6:30 p.m. 
1330 W. Chicago Ave.

Loyola Park
Saturday, July 27, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
Sunday, July 28, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.

At Farwell Ave. Entrance
1230 W. Greenleaf Ave.

Columbus Park
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
500 S. Central Ave.

Tuley Park
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
501 E. 90th Pl.

Dvorak Park
Thursday, August 1, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.

1119 W. Cullerton St.

RiverEdge Park - Aurora, IL
Saturday, August 3, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.

360 N. Broadway St.
Aurora, IL

Ellis Park
Sunday, August 4, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.

3520 S. Cottage Grove Ave.

Frank J. Wilson Park
Tuesday, August 6, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
Wednesday, August 7, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.

4630 N. Milwaukee Ave.

Humboldt Park
Thursday, August 8, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
Friday, August 9, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.

Near The Boathouse
1301 N. Sacramento Ave.

Ridge Park
Saturday, August 10, 2019 at 6:30 p.m. 

1817 W. 96th St.

Calumet Park
Sunday, August 11, 2019 at 6:30 p.m. 

9801 S. Ave. G

Ogden Park
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
6500 S. Racine Ave.

Piotrowski Park
Thursday, August 15, 2019 at 6:30 p.m. 
4247 W. 31st St.

Welles Park
Friday, August 16, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 17, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
 
2333 W. Sunnyside Ave.

Ping Tom Memorial Park
Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.
1700 S. Wentworth Ave.



About cgcc

The Chicago Gifted Community Center (CGCC) is a member-driven 501(c)(3) non-profit organization created by parents to support the intellectual and emotional growth of gifted children and their families. 

Become a member

We  are an all volunteer-based organization that relies on annual memberships from parents, professionals, and supporters to provide organizers with web site operations, a registration system, event insurance, background checks, etc. 

Contact us

info@chicagogiftedcommunity.org

© Chicago Gifted Community Center

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software