Follow Us

Chicago Gifted Community Center

Creating connections - Creating community

In Chicago and the suburbs            

Log in

Why Top Student's Don't Get Into Top Colleges

  • February 01, 2020
  • 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
  • Webinar

Free Webinar! 

Why Top Students Don't Get Into Top Colleges

Critical mistakes that stop students from getting into top colleges -- and how to avoid them

Too often I see parents, with the best of intentions, giving their students bad advice about getting into college.

Being "well-rounded," for example, isn't the draw it used to be - - and can actually be a detriment to college admissions. 

You'll also be surprised to hear that an activity many parents think is a "must" for admission won't help students get into a top school. 

Parents need to understand what colleges are looking for today - and the earlier in high school, the better!

What We'll Cover: 

We'll discuss what you need to know and what mistakes to avoid - - starting in 9th grade - -  about topics including curriculum, testing, extracurricular activities, essays, activity lists, recommendations, interviews, and application options (options like ED 2, which didn't exist when we applied, can radically impact your student's chances of getting in!).

Plus, a Q & A session!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Presenter: Last year alone, national college consultant Susan Goodkin had students admitted to every Ivy League school and Stanford -- including 3 students accepted to Harvard, 6 accepted to Stanford and 3 accepted to Yale!  In addition to the Ivies and Stanford, Susan has also helped many students get admitted to colleges including MIT, Cal Tech, Berkeley, UCLA, Duke, U.Chicago, Vanderbilt, Northwestern, and Johns Hopkins, along with a host of other schools from large public universities to small religious colleges.

Susan is a graduate of Harvard University, Harvard Law School, and Oxford University, where she was a Rhodes Scholar.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What Webinar Participants Are Saying: 

"Included crucial information and tips that many students and parents would not know otherwise."

"Lots of helpful info and strategies presented to better help my kids prepare for the college application process."

"Susan is informative and takes her time to explain and answer every question. You can see that she really loves doing this."

"Informative and well presented! This is my 2nd webinar, and I will sign up for more."


Reserve  Your Spot Now

This free one-hour webinar will be offered on three different dates: 


Sunday, January 26th: 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm PT, 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm MT, 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm CT, 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm ET 

To register, go to: January 26 Why Top Kids Don't Get Into Top Colleges


Saturday, February 1st:   11:00 am -12:00 pm PT, 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm MT, 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm CT, 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm ET

To register, go to: February 1 Why Top Kids Don't Get Into Top Colleges  


Sunday, February 23rd: 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm PT, 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm MT, 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm CT, 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm ET

To register, go to: February 23 Why Top Students Don't Get Into Top Colleges


Registrants will receive a handout with college planning resources, including tips on avoiding college financial planning mistakes from Jodi Okun, national financial aid expert and author of Secrets of a Financial Aid Pro.

Questions?  E-mail Susan.Goodkin@LearningStrategiesCenter.com, or call 805-642-6686, 9 am - 6 pm Pacific Time.







About cgcc

The Chicago Gifted Community Center (CGCC) is a member-driven 501(c)(3) non-profit organization created by parents to support the intellectual and emotional growth of gifted children and their families. 

Become a member

We  are an all volunteer-based organization that relies on annual memberships from parents, professionals, and supporters to provide organizers with web site operations, a registration system, event insurance, background checks, etc. 

Contact us

info@chicagogiftedcommunity.org

© Chicago Gifted Community Center

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software